Court ADR Programs

In New York City

Criminal Court 

The New York City Criminal Court may refer certain disputes to Community Dispute Resolution Centers for mediation services. These disputes may be between neighbors, acquaintances, family members, landlords and tenants, or consumers and merchants. 

Family Court 

New York City Family Court offers free mediation services for parenting issues in custody and visitation cases. For more information on these Family Court-based mediation programs, contact



Civil Court 

The Civil Court of the City of New York handles civil cases involving amounts up to $25,000 and other civil matters referred to it by the Supreme Court. (Includes Housing, Small Claims). NYC Civil Court has various ADR programs available.

Supreme Court, Civil 

NYC Supreme Civil consists of trial courts that see a variety of cases including commercial, matrimonial (divorce), and personal injury. Find out more about the ADR Programs in NYC Supreme courts. 



Surrogate’s Court 

The Surrogate’s Courts hear cases involving the affairs of decedents, including the probate of wills and the administration of estates. Find out about the Bronx Surrogate’s ADR Program. For Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, or Staten Island, please contact

Outside New York City

For information on court-based mediation programs outside New York City, find your county within your Judicial District. See map below.  

For mediation in a Family Court, or a City, Town or Village Court outside New York City, you may contact your local Community Dispute Resolution Center or the court, if you do not find information in the appropriate section below. 

3rd Judicial District: Albany, Columbia, Greene, Rensselaer, Schoharie, Sullivan & Ulster Counties 

4th Judicial District: Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Montgomery, Saratoga, Schenectady, St. Lawrence, Warren & Washington Counties 

5th Judicial District: Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Oswego, Onondaga and Herkimer counties. 

6th Judicial District: Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madison, Otswego, Schuyler, Tioga, and Tompkins Counties. 

7th Judicial District: Monroe, Cayuga, Wayne, Seneca, Ontario, Yates, Livingston and Steuben counties. 

8th Judicial District: Erie, Allegany, Niagara, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Orleans, Wyoming and Genesee counties. 

9th Judicial District: Westchester, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam and Rockland counties. 

10th Judicial District: Nassau and Suffolk counties. 

NYS Court Districts