2022 New York Statewide Civil Legal Aid Technology Conference

The 7th Annual New York Statewide Civil Legal Aid Technology Conference, convened by the Permanent Commission on Access to Justice in partnership with Cornell Tech and NYSTech, was held remotely beginning at 1:00pm ET on Monday April 11, and Tuesday April 12, 2022. The conference's theme, "Making it Work to Working Better," focused on how make-shift remote service delivery has transitioned, after two years of operating during the pandemic, to improved systems for the delivery of legal services and access to the courts. 

The conference targets the New York State civil legal aid community and is open to staff from all New York legal services programs as well as access to justice stakeholders from New York and out-of-state. 


Agenda, Recordings, Transcripts and Slides

The conference agenda includes opening remarks by Chief Judge Janet DiFiore; plenary session on "Racial Disparities in Police Stops;" a "Rapid Fire Tech" plenary session where presenters highlighted innovative technology initiatives that are available to the civil legal aid community; and a plenary session where presenters will share "25 Apps in 50 Minutes" for remote working and virtual legal services. There were three rounds of concurrent break-out sessions to choose from with presentations loosely divided into four tracks: Court Technology, Data, Remote Services, and Technical Projects. All sessions were recorded.

There was no cost to attend. Agenda, Recordings, Transcripts, Slides and Materials: 

Day One Monday, April 11, 2022

Day Two Tuesday April 12, 2022



The New York State Permanent Commission on Access to Justice offers sincere gratitude and appreciation to our conference partners, Cornel Tech and NYSTech, and all the presenters at this year's conference for volunteering their time and sharing their expertise with the New York State civil legal aid community.

In addition, many thanks to the New York State Division of Technology staff for their hard work and assistance hosting the conference:

  • Hassan A. Alkurabi
  • Martin Huynh
  • Dawn M. Cota
  • Tyler Lehr
  • Gregory Lochner
  • Matthew Shkaf 
  • Chris Kissane
  • Brendan P. Burke

Most importantly, we acknowledge the enormous contribution of the members of the 2022 Technology Conference Planning Committee who met weekly for months in order to make the conference a success:

  • Helaine Barnett, Chair, Permanent Commission
  • Deborah Wright, Chair, Technology Working Group
  • Matt D'Amore, Liaison, Cornell Tech
  • Rochelle Klempner, OCA Counsel to the Working Group
  • Quisquella Addison
  • Tim Baran
  • Glenn Baum
  • Christine Fecko
  • Shira Galinsky
  • John Greiner
  • Jeff Hogue
  • Lillian Moy
  • Sateesh Nori
  • Chris Schwartz
  • Joanne Sirotkin