About Us

In October 2010, then-Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman established the New York State Permanent Commission on Sentencing. The Commission, co-chaired by the Hon. Derek Champagne, Family Court Judge, Franklin County and the Hon. Cyrus R. Vance, Jr., District Attorney, New York County, is a panel of representatives from the criminal justice community, including criminal defense attorneys, judges, policymakers, academics and victim advocates.

The Commission serves in an advisory capacity to the Chief Judge and is charged with comprehensively evaluating sentencing laws and practices and recommending reforms that will improve the quality and effectiveness of statewide sentencing policy. In fulfilling its charge, the Commission will examine current sentencing provisions and propose sensible changes aimed at: (1) enhancing justice; (2) improving public safety; and (3) clarifying and simplifying New York State's sentencing regime.