Overview

Staff

Surrogate
Nora S. Anderson

Surrogate
Rita Mella

Chief Clerk 
Diana Sanabria

Deputy Chief Clerk
Jana Cohn

General Phone
646-386-5000

Serving the estates of individuals who were domiciled in New York County (Manhattan) at the time of their death.

For estate matters of decedents having been domiciled in any other county, please contact the Surrogate's Court of that county directly.

 

Office Info

Surrogate's Court
New York County (Manhattan)
31 Chambers Street
New York, NY 10007
 

What to Do When Someone Dies

Accessing a Deceased Persons Sealed Residence

What You Will Need & Which Offices Can Help

Petition to Search Apartment

 

Direct Department Contacts

Miscellaneous Dept. / Calendar Clerk 
(To file Affidavits of Service, Applications to Open Safe Deposit Boxes & Sealed Apartments)
Phone: 646-386-5001 
misc_general@nycourts.gov

Accounting Department 
(Estate & Trust Accountings)
Phone: 646-386-5002 
accounting_general@nycourts.gov

Guardian / Adoption Department 
(Infant / 17A Applications)
Phone: 646-386-5003 
guardian_general@nycourts.gov

Probate Department 
(Decedents leaving a will)
Phone: 646-386-5004
probate_general@nycourts.gov

Administration Dept. / Small Estates 
(Decedents leaving no will)
Phone: 646-386-5005
administration_general@nycourts.gov

Cashier / Certificates / Certifications 
(Fees)
Phone: 646-386-5006
cashier_general@nycourts.gov

Records Search & Certifications 
Phone: 646-386-5090
recordroom_general@nycourts.gov

Law Department Reception Area 
Phone: 646-386-5800

New York County Public Administrator 
(Estates of decedents leaving unknown heirs / Police Property Vouchers)
Phone: 212-788-8430, Room 311
E-mail Address: info@nycountypa.com

 

 

back to top