

## PRESS RELEASE

New York State Unified Court System **Contact:** 

David Bookstaver Communications Director

**Arlene Hackel, Deputy Director** 

(212) 428-2500

Hon. A. Gail Prudenti Chief Administrative Judge

www.nycourts.gov/press

Date: March 26, 2013

## Chief Judge Names Members of Commercial Division Advisory Council

NEW YORK – Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman today named the members of a permanent Commercial Division Advisory Council to advise him on an ongoing basis about all matters involving and surrounding the Commercial Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York. The Advisory Council will be chaired by Robert L. Haig of Kelley Drye & Warren LLP and consist of lawyers, current and former members of the judiciary, and in-house counsel all brought together from around the state to maximize the diversity of perspective and analysis. The creation of a Commercial Division Advisory Council was a key recommendation of Chief Judge Lippman's Task Force on Commercial Litigation in the 21<sup>st</sup> Century, co-chaired by Judith S. Kaye, former Chief Judge of New York, and Martin Lipton, the co-founder of Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, which issued a comprehensive report in 2012. The Advisory Council will work to implement the recommendations in that report and will help fulfill the long-term strategic goals of a world-class Commercial Division in New York State.

Chief Judge Lippman said, "Last year, I created the Task Force on Commercial Litigation in the 21<sup>st</sup> Century to take a fresh look at how our court system, and the Commercial Division in particular, can continue to serve as an efficient and effective forum for resolving business disputes. The Task Force, led by its extraordinary co-chairs, delivered a comprehensive report

outlining over 20 recommendations to better serve the litigation needs of the business community and our state's economy in the coming years. It is now time to take the next step. The Advisory Council has been charged with implementing the Task Force's recommendations, keeping me apprised of developments in the business world that may affect the court system, and working to help our Commercial Division better understand and respond to the needs of the business community."

Chief Administrative Judge A. Gail Prudenti said, "The distinguished members of the Advisory Council represent a uniquely qualified group of individuals from around the state who bring with them a variety of experiences and ideas that will play a critical role in helping the Commercial Division more effectively serve the needs of the business community in today's challenging, constantly evolving litigation environment. I look forward to working with them and the Chief Judge to ensure the continued high standing of New York's Commercial Division."

"I am honored that Chief Judge Lippman has asked me to spearhead this important effort and look forward to working with him and the distinguished members of the Commercial Division Advisory Council," said Robert Haig. "Chief Judge Lippman has brought together a thoughtful and experienced group representing many different perspectives from throughout the state to help the Commercial Division adapt to the challenges of an increasing workload and a rapidly changing litigation environment."

A full roster of the Commercial Division Advisory Council follows.

## **Commercial Division Advisory Council**

Chair

Robert L. Haig, Esq., Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

Members

Stewart D. Aaron, Esq., Arnold & Porter LLP

Mark H. Alcott, Esq., Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Harvey B. Besunder, Esq., Bracken Margolin Besunder LLP

Hon. Eileen Bransten, Supreme Court of the State of New York

Heather C. Briccetti, Esq., President and CEO, The Business Council of New York State, Inc.

Michelle H. Browdy, Esq., Vice President, Assistant General Counsel and Secretary, IBM Corporation

Kathy H. Chin, Esq., Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP

Tracee E. Davis, Esq., Zeichner Ellman & Krause LLP

Hon. Thomas A. Dickerson, Appellate Division, Second Department

Hon. Timothy S. Driscoll, Supreme Court of the State of New York

Robert J. Giuffra, Jr., Esq., Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Roberta A. Kaplan, Esq., Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Mitchell J. Katz, Esq., Menter, Rudin & Trivelpiece, PC

Michael W. Leahy, Esq. Vice President, Deputy General Counsel and Head of Litigation,

American International Group, Inc.

Hon. Howard A. Levine, Whiteman Osterman & Hanna LLP

Jonathan D. Lupkin, Esq., Rakower Lupkin PLLC

Roger J. Maldonado, Esq., Balber Pickard Maldonado & Van Der Tuin, PC

Hon. E. Leo Milonas, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Lynn K. Neuner, Esq., Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Christopher C. Palermo, Esq., Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

Hon. Ann T. Pfau, Supreme Court of the State of New York

Sharon M. Porcellio, Esq., Ward Greenberg Heller & Reidy LLP

James T. Potter, Esq., Hinman Straub P.C.

Hon. Charles E. Ramos, Supreme Court of the State of New York

Elizabeth Sacksteder, Esq., Deputy General Counsel, Citigroup, Inc.

Jay G. Safer, Esq., Locke Lord LLP

Paul D. Sarkozi, Esq., Tennenbaum Helpern Syracuse & Hirschtritt LLP

William M. Savino, Esq., Rivkin Radler LLP

Hon. Alan D. Scheinkman, Supreme Court of the State of New York

Hon. O. Peter Sherwood, Supreme Court of the State of New York

Audrey Strauss, Esq., Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Alcoa Inc.

Richard P. Swanson, Esq., General Counsel, York Capital Management

David H. Tennant, Esq., Nixon Peabody LLP

Stephen P. Younger, Esq., Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

Mark C. Zauderer, Esq., Flemming Zulack Williamson Zauderer LLP

Jeffrey M. Zimmerman, Esq., Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, Time Warner Cable Inc.